SPOKANE, Wash. — Andy Rathbun, the candidate challenging incumbent Karen Stratton for a seat on the Spokane City Council representing District 3, conceded on Thursday following the final scheduled vote count.

Rathbun's campaign sent out a statement annoncing the ending of his campaign and wishing Stratton the best going forward on Thursday morning.

"This past year has been an absolute honor. A great excuse to knock on over six-thousand doors and listen, learn and fall in love with our Lilac City again each day in a new way," Rathbun said. "Melody and I thank all of the people that donated their time, talent and treasure to our campaign. Spokane continues to inspire us, and we look forward to a bright future for our children and grandchildren. I wish Karen Stratton, the incoming Mayor and City Council all the best."

Stratton was ahead by just 431 votes after the final scheduled vote count.

Stratton finished with 11,915 votes (50.55 percent) after the final scheduled vote count, compared to Rathbun's 11,484 votes (48.72 percent).

In District 1, incumbent Michael Cathcart finished with 6,444 votes (51.51 percent). His opponent, Tim Benn, received 5,582 votes (44.70 percent). 

In District 2, incumbent Lori Kinnear received 17,846 votes (68.24 percent) after the latest count, with Tony Kiepe receiving 8,176 votes (31.26 percent) on Tuesday night. 

District 1 represents northeast Spokane, District 2 represents south Spokane, and District 3 covers northwest Spokane.

The election will be officially called by the county on Nov. 26.

RELATED: Cindy Wendle leads Breean Beggs in Spokane City Council President race after first count

RELATED: Ben Stuckart concedes Spokane mayor's race to Nadine Woodward

RELATED: Spokane income tax ban, open negotiations measures projected to pass

RELATED: Live election coverage for Spokane, Washington, North Idaho

For a full list of election results in Eastern Washington and North Idaho, visit the KREM Election page.