SPOKANE, Wash. – U.S. Forest Service announced fire restrictions will begin in Northern Idaho starting at 11:59 p.m. on Aug. 3, 2017.

The stage one restrictions are intended to decrease the chance of any preventable fires in the designated areas, officials said in a release.

The restrictions impact the Coeur d’Alene Fire Restriction Area, which includes all state, federal, and private forestland and rangeland in Benewah, Bonner, Boundary, Kootenai, Shoshone, and Latah Counties. Officials said that also includes public lands in Washington and Montana that are administered by the Idaho Panhandle National Forests.

From USFS:

Under the Stage 1 Fire Restrictions, the following acts are prohibited on state and federally managed or protected lands, roads, and trails:

  • Building, maintaining, attending, or using a fire, campfire or stove fire except within a designated recreation site in a permanent concrete or metal fire ring, or on their own land, and only within an owner-provided structure.
  • Smoking, except within an enclosed vehicle, building, or designated recreation site, or while stopped in an area at least three feet in diameter that is barren or cleared of all flammable materials.

The following are exemptions to the Stage 1 Fire Restrictions:

  • Firewood cutting restrictions are not in place at this time. Firewood cutters are reminded to comply with the fire precaution terms and conditions of their permit.
  • Persons with a written permit that specifically authorizes the otherwise prohibited act.
  • Persons using fire fueled solely by liquid petroleum or liquid petroleum gas (LPG) fuels. Such devices, including propane campfires, may be used only in an area cleared of flammable material.
  • Persons conducting activities in those designated areas where the activity is specifically authorized by written posted notice.
  • Any federal, state or local officer or member of an organized rescue or firefighting force in the performance of an official duty.
  • All land within a city boundary is exempted.
  • Other exemptions unique to each agency.