GU women announce WCC hoops schedule

GU women announce WCC hoops schedule

GU women announce WCC hoops schedule

Print
Email
|

by Gonzaga Athletics

KREM.com

Posted on August 20, 2012 at 11:18 PM

SAN BRUNO, Calif. – The West Coast Conference released the schedule for the 2012-13 women’s basketball conference season Monday. Gonzaga, looking to capture its unprecedented ninth-straight WCC regular season title, begins action Jan. 3. 

“The league continues to get better and better,” explained Gonzaga head coach Kelly Graves, who begins his 13th year at the helm. “We look forward to challenging for our ninth-straight regular-season championship.” 

The Zags open the nine-team 2012-13 league campaign with a two-game homestand at the McCarthey Athletic Center. The Bulldogs, who ended the 2011-12 season ranked 14th in the nation in attendance, averaging 5,443, will host the University of San Diego, Thursday, Jan. 3 and Santa Clara University, Saturday, Jan. 5. 

Gonzaga will then play four of the next five games on the road; including a unique Monday contest at the University of Portland, Jan. 14. Other road games during the stretch are Saint Mary’s (Sat., Jan.10), San Diego (Sat., Jan. 19) and Pepperdine University (Thur., Jan. 24). The lone home game is Thur., Jan. 17 when the Zags welcome BYU to Spokane. BYU, a second-year member of the WCC, won the West Coast Conference Tournament title a season ago with a 78-66 win over Gonzaga. 

After hosting Loyola Marymount University, Thursday, Jan. 31 and Pepperdine University, Saturday, Feb. 2, the Bulldogs hit the road for games at the University of San Francisco, Thursday, Feb. 7 and Loyola Marymount University, Saturday, Feb. 9. 

The Zags look to avenge last year’s home loss to Saint Mary’s College, which snapped a 34-game West Coast Conference winning streak and a 20-game unbeaten league home streak, when the Gaels come to the McCarthey on Thursday, Feb. 14. 

Gonzaga will close out that week hosting San Francisco, Saturday, Feb. 16 and then travel to Santa Clara, Thursday, Feb. 21 and BYU, Saturday, Feb. 23.  

Senior Day for Gonzaga is set for Thursday, Feb. 28 when it hosts the University of Portland to close out the league season. 

Gonzaga ended the 2011-12 season with a 28-6 overall record and a 14-2 league mark. The Bulldogs return nine letterwinners from their Sweet Sixteen squad, along with welcoming two redshirts and four newcomers.

Print
Email
|