12 officers involved in Post Falls shooting identified


by KREM.com


Posted on July 3, 2014 at 11:48 AM

Updated Thursday, Jul 3 at 6:46 PM

KOOTENAI COUNTY, Idaho -- Authorities on Thursday released the names of the officers directly involved in the exchange of gunfire with a suspect along Interstate 90 last month.

READ: Post Falls officer involved shooting eighth one of 2014

Investigators said Marcus Rael led multiple-agencies on a chase June 22, 2014 after a traffic stop near 20th and Sherman in Post Falls. Officials said spike strips were put in place but Rael stopped his car and began exchanging gunfire with law enforcement.

READ: Man shot by officers in Post Falls faces charges

Critical Incident Task Force detectives identified a total of twelve law enforcement personnel from four local agencies in the officer-involved shooting:

Idaho State Police:

Corporal J. Kagarice, 13+ years with ISP

Kootenai County Sheriff:
Deputy P. Mead, 2+ years with KCSO
Deputy E. Hedlund, 6+ years with KCSO

Post Falls Police:
Senior Officer B. Chapman, 19+ years with PFPD
Officer J. Mealer, 8 months with PFPD
Senior Officer A. Sporleder, 1+ years with PFPD

Coeur d’Alene Police:
Officer A. Wessel, 6+ years with CDAPD
Officer J. Schneider, 8+ years with CDAPD
Officer D. Taylor, 3+ years with CDAPD
Officer N. Petersen, 4+ years with CDAPD
Officer J. Noble, 4+ years with CDAPD
Officer A. Tenney, 6+ years with CDAPD

All of the officers involved remained on paid administrative leave Thursday as the investigation continued.

WATCH: Witness video catches gunshots from officer involved shooting in Post Falls

Rael was hospitalized following the shooting but was taken into custody The Kootenai County Sheriff’s Office on Wednesday.