SPOKANE, Wash. – Northwest Conference football coaches have selected Whitworth senior quarterback Ian Kolste as the 2017 NWC Offensive Player of the Year, headlining a list of 14 Pirate players named to the 2017 All-NWC Football Team, which was released today by the conference office.

Seven Whitworth players, including Kolste, were named to the first team. Four other Pirates are second team honorees and three received honorable mention consideration.

Kolste led the NWC in passing yards (2,483), passing touchdowns (26), passing efficiency (149.5), completion percentage (67.8) and total offense (2,515) in 2017. He did all of that despite the fact that he only played in 25 out of 40 total quarters of football. He missed half of the game against George Fox and all of the game at Pacific Lutheran with an ankle injury. He came out of six other games early after Whitworth had built a comfortable lead. He only played two quarters of three Pirate victories (LaVerne, Puget Sound and Willamette).

Kolste retires as Whitworth’s all-time leader in total offense (10,467), passing yards (10,124), passing touchdowns (85), pass completions (946) and pass attempts (1,424). He had a record of 26-6 as the Pirates’ starting QB.

Kolste is the fifth player in Whitworth history to earn NWC Offensive Player of the Year recognition, following Scott Biglin (2001), Joel Clark (2006) and Adam Anderson (2007, 2008).

Whitworth finished the 2017 season 8-2 overall and 5-2 in the NWC, which tied for second place. The Pirates will head into the 2018 season with a five game winning streak.